Why I love a dog

ImageHaving a dog requires lots of patience, time, and work. You also need to have a serious commitment to take care of the dog and let him/her live the best he/she deserves. But are all of these ever get paid? Well, you just don’t notice it but Yes, it does. There are a lot of benefits of owning a dog.

·         Gives you the time to exercise

This is actually the best benefit of having a dog. Even if you feel like you don’t want to go outside, you are obliged to because your dog needs to have a walk. It’s like having someone to push you to move and get off the couch and have an exercise.

During weekends, I spend all of my time at the couch, eating popcorn, and watching the TV all day long but thanks to Bruce (my 4-month old german shepherd), I have the chance to get walks (I walk him twice), and visit the park. As we arrive in the park, he does chases that really eats up all my energy. Crazy Bruce!

·         Boosts your mood

After a long and tiring day from work, what more can you ask for when an adorable furry friend is more than happy to see you arrive? It’s like he never saw you for 2 years when it was only this morning  that he last saw you. Even though the boss and co-workers filled you with so much anger and disappointment, you would still find the time to smile when you get to think of how much your dog really misses you. In fact, studies have shown that it would only take 20-25 minutes of petting and playing with your dog to chance your mood and relax you.

There was this one time I had a fight with my neighbor, screaming and yelling to the extent and when I got home (still so mad and upset), Bruce was there, with his cute, sad puppy eyes, waiting for me at the door. I forgot my neighbor and I was tapping him in the back. Feels like he was able to hear and feel me that’s why he just stood there to make me feel alright.

·         Helps you have long life

Researches have been found out that having a dog lowers your blood pressure level and relieves stress. Because of this, for sure, you can live in this world much longer than those who don’t have dogs.

I remember my Dad’s dog, Bubbles. Even though we were really not in good terms, she keeps biting my shoes and jumps on me with his paws so dirty, I still do love her so much because I know for a reason she has been dad’s stress-reliever. She was always there when dad is upset, licking his feet just to show she understand the situation.

There’s more! Click Why I love a dog for more amazing stories that will surely make you love your dogs even more.